Piece of peace

Now – my one little word for 2017

one-little-word-now

Happy 2017! I hope the year has been off to a great start for everyone! Can’t believe it’s already the end of January!

So, for those who know me, you know I usually don’t like to procrastinate. If I want to do something, I go ahead and get on with it. But I have to say that when procrastination does come to visit me, I too can be drawn to its charm. And when I do, I could easily be in the running for a gold medal for the excuses I come up with. If you heard the excuses, even you would say, “that’s legitimate… I hear ya”. But are they?

Why do we put off things? We tell ourselves, the time is not right or there’s no time or we’ll make time later. But time is time. What we choose to do with that time, is up to us, right?

A couple of years ago, a dear friend of mine introduced me to the One Little Word project. Every year you choose a word that will be your word for that year. A word to live by, to carry with you, to use as a lens for how you approach your year. This year that word for me is, NOW.

For me, the word now means a lot of things for 2017…

  • making time to do things I love, need or want to do
  • not putting off things because of timing, fear of failure or trepidation of perception
  • living in the moment and enjoying what is present and being grateful for that
  • a gentle reminder that it’s never to late to try something new or take a different path.

Just thinking about it all makes me feel so excited about 2017. It’s amazing just holding one word in your heart can have so much potential.

If you’re interested in joining the Ali Edwards’ One Little Word project, check out aliedwards.com/one-little-word. Every month you’ll receive creative prompts to keep your word in front of mind and truly embrace it throughout the year.

Wishing you all a wonderful year ahead filled with possibilities and beautiful moments to come!

If you were to choose a word for 2017 for yourself, what would it be? I’d love to hear from you! xo

Leave a comment. I'd love to hear from you!

